Guila Muir and Associates

Home » Instructional Design » SELF-TALK WITH SECONDS TO GO

SELF-TALK WITH SECONDS TO GO

Archives

“It’s Showtime!”

SELF-TALK WITH SECONDS TO GO
Recently, I asked a few excellent public speakers if they employ “self-talk” to boost their energy and confidence right before they take the stage. If so, what do they say?

Approximately 75% of those I surveyed told me they regularly deliver an internal message to self in those few seconds. I do, too. This is it:

“Guila,

  • Relax
  • Breathe
  • Be Yourself.”

Other speakers’ self-talk includes the following:

  • I’m great!
  • Get it ON! (Common variation: Let’s do this thing.)
  • I love doing this, and they love ME.

Hearing your own encouraging, internal voice could help you spring into action with added enthusiasm. Give it a try!

(And the next time you see me muttering to myself seconds before I begin, you will know what I am doing.)
Leave a Reply

Archives

